

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF MILITARY MEDICINE

REGULATION OF INTERNAL ORDER ON THE WILLIAM S. BAINBRIDGE PRIZE

Reference: Statutes of the ICMM, Article 2 § f and Article 19 §3

Approval: General Assembly of the ICMM in Nusa Dua Bali, Indonesia, May 2015

STATUTORY BASIS

Captain (Navy) William S. BAINBRIDGE M.D. was the co-founder of the International Committee of Military Medicine in 1921. In accordance with Articles 2 and 19 of the Statutes of the International Committee of Military Medicine, this Regulation of Internal Order defines the rules for awarding the William S. BAINBRIDGE Prize.

REGULATION

Art. 1.

The WILLIAM S. BAINBRIDGE PRIZE is awarded in principle every two years during the World Congress of the International Committee of Military Medicine (ICMM).

The Prize rewards the original work of an author or group of authors, presented as a poster presentation at the scientific sessions, organized by the Scientific Committee of the country organizing the International Congress of the ICMM, or presented at the different Regional Congresses organized since the previous International Congress.

The work must relate to one of the health disciplines represented in a military environment*. In addition, the work should aim to improve the organization of the Military Health Services or the efficiency of their operations in times of peace or conflict, or relate to studies worthy of encouragement, undertaken by one or several young research workers in fields, having applications in a military environment.

Art. 2.

All the poster presentations, presented in one of the two official languages of the ICMM (English and French) at the ongoing International Congress of the ICMM and the best poster presentations presented at the different Regional Congresses organized since the previous International Congress are candidates for the William S. BAINBRIDGE prize of the current year. The Chairman of the Scientific Council of the ICMM is in charge of collecting and presenting these 'regional poster presentations' to the jury.

Art. 3.

The Jury of the William S. BAINBRIDGE Prize is composed of international experts in military medicine. The Jury includes six members.

- The Chairman of the Scientific Council of the ICMM (is also the Chairman of the Jury),
- The Deputy Chairman of the Scientific Council of the ICMM
- The Secretary of the Scientific Committee of the International Congress,
- Three experts in military medicine, proposed by the Secretary of the Scientific Committee of the International Congress.

Art. 4.

The Scientific Committee of the International Congress will organize visits of the Jury to all the poster sessions of the International Congress.

The posters will be evaluated based on their excellence in meeting the targets set out in paragraph 3 of Article 1 of this RIO and on the overall presentation of the poster presentation.

The deliberations of the jury will be organized during the scientific activities of the International Congress. The decisions of the Jury are final.

Art. 5.

The work awarded with the Prize will be published as a scientific article by the author or authors in the *International Review of the Armed Forces Medical Services* as soon as possible.

Unless otherwise specified by the authors, the other poster presentations can also be published in the *International Review of the Armed Forces Medical Services*, with the approval of the Editorial Board.

Art. 6.

The results are announced during the International Congress.

The Secretary General of the International Committee of Military Medicine decides upon the nature of the prize.

Art. 7.

This regulation replaces and cancels the previous versions.

* Medicine, surgery and other specialties, curative or preventive, laboratory, research, health logistics and administration, pharmacy, veterinary sciences, dentistry, and nursing.